Aside

Fake it till you make it!

Have you ever had one of those mornings when you wake up and the world just seems to be going against you. You get up and hit your toe in your bedside drawer or you’ve overslept and while being in a hurry you rip your favourite top/dress/trousers, there’s no toothpaste left, no time for breakfast, traffic is horrible…. You know – one of those days? Sometimes it doesn’t even have to be a reason to feel blue, you just feel the way you do and that’s it.

If you’ve never had a day or just a morning like that I have 2 things to say to you: 1st – you lucky bugger! And 2nd – don’t worry it will happen to you at some point.

Please don’t think that’ll be a negative post at all (I know it may not seem that way at first glance, but bear with me (grrr! J -> in case you didn’t get that please refer to that video 

Ok, so what do you do when you have a day as such? Do you end up spending the whole day being grumpy, irritated and offensively blunt to people? Well STOP!

Seriously. Everybody, and I mean every single soul that you’ve ever come in contact with have had, is currently having or will have a bad day. Imagine if we all just end up letting all that negative energy out and target it to the others? Instead – delete it, remove it completely out of your system.  Ok, I know it may sound stupid to some of you, but again – bear with me (grrrr! J).

Have you ever tried to force a smile on your face when you feel angry or frustrated? I mean force for more than 10seconds? It may sound silly but you do know the saying “fake it till you make it”, right? Well it’s true (it’s actually proven ->

When you’re in a vile mood just force a smile on your face for good 5-10 minutes until you feel it. By “it” I mean that warm feeling of happiness that makes you genuinely smile.

Every morning, that hasn’t quite started the way it was supposed to, I try and find a CD with music that I know I can sing to (preferably something upbeat J) and play it in my car. I force a smile and start singing. By the time I reach the second traffic lights to my way to work my mood is improved and energy level is higher. What else can I ask for?

Leave a Reply

